1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

how do casinos recognise our computers.

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by AlohaHawaii, Jan 13, 2008.

    Jan 13, 2008
  1. AlohaHawaii

    AlohaHawaii Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Managerial
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hi,
    I am just wondering how do online casinos recognise our computers, henceforth we cannot have more than one account on the same computer to claim bonuses.
    Thanks
     
  2. Jan 13, 2008
  3. brianzz

    brianzz Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Work
    Location:
    TN
    Registry entries.... they're in so many places it's hard to get rid of them all.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Jan 13, 2008
  5. AlohaHawaii

    AlohaHawaii Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Managerial
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks.
    Someone told me that they identify our computers through the MAC address too. Is this true?
    Thanks
     
  6. Jan 13, 2008
  7. Cynthia777

    Cynthia777 Senior Member

    Occupation:
    working
    Location:
    My house
    This reminds me of a thread someone had wondering how to hide their IP address...all I will say is "Why would you want to????" :what:
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Jan 13, 2008
  9. KasinoKing

    KasinoKing WebMeister & Slotaholic.. CAG MM PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    House-Husband and Casino Advisor
    Location:
    Bexhill on sea, England
    Q
    A
    If you are a potential bonus abuser - you are a confirmed idiot. :mad:

    There are 100's of SUB's and dozens of monthlies on the net - you don't need to try to cheat. If I didn't have to work full-time I could gamble 18 hours a day, 7 days a week and still not get through all the monthly bonuses in a month.

    If you just want to register a genuine account on a PC which someone else has used before, contact the casino(s) in question & get their approval in writing before going ahead.

    KK
     
    2 people like this.
  10. Jan 13, 2008
  11. kimss

    kimss Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Norway
    There are to many ways to determine the same machine, and even with seperate machines in your house you still have the same IP which will look very strange unless you are one of those wagering from an internet caffe.

    Remember you infact install the casino on your machine - you give them permission to do checksums on your entire harddrive. As said - it's to easy for them to see it's the same machine.
     
  12. Jan 13, 2008
  13. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Agreed. Don't feed the trolls ;)
     
  14. Jan 13, 2008
  15. anniemac

    anniemac Ueber Meister MM PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Actually guys, I have wondered the same question myself and I'm not looking to scam anybody. She could have just been curious. I'd like to know how they, not just casinos anybody, know who I am and where I am at.
     
  16. Jan 13, 2008
  17. kimss

    kimss Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Norway
    This is very easy. All movements you do on the internet must be accompanied by your IP, this is your caller ID if you like. If you didn't have an IP - the website or service you requested online would have no way of getting back to you. Like, you ask for You must register/login in order to see the link. - the webserver must send the webpage back to you, hence your IP solves it.

    When you have that IP (which everyone has) you can look it up in a GEO IP database, maxmind is very know for their high quality database:
    You must register/login in order to see the link.

    Then, there are several ways to fake your IP, you can even make it whatever you like. That is, if you want to master IP you need the knowledge of raw sockets, however remember that when creating a new IP there is no way of getting back to you, since you are sending the traffic in the wrong direction... This type of manipulation is used in attacks on the web, a different discussion.

    For changing your IP you would need a proxyserver, that is another webserver/machine which lets you go through it to get what you like. You will then get the IP of the proxyserver. Most public proxyservers will not have the ports open you require for online gambling either, and if they do they are probably very slow aswell. You probably seen in the movies when they track a hacker, seeing the lines connecting the dots from country to country to trace the hacker. Each dot represents another proxyserver if you will, that is - you can chain servers so you get one large back and forth way for the data.

    I think this would be more that enough input for your question.
     
    3 people like this.
  18. Jan 13, 2008
  19. RobWin

    RobWin closed account

    Occupation:
    Who knows?
    Location:
    A Vault!
    To answer the original question, they simply "Ping" your machine for IP or Mac Address.....:poke:
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Jan 13, 2008
  21. kimss

    kimss Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Norway
    Also, U can use this address for you IP:

    You must register/login in order to see the link.

    "Din IP adresse er" would translate in english to "Your IP is:". The other info is some more information your browser also leaves a footprint with.
     
  22. Jan 13, 2008
  23. anniemac

    anniemac Ueber Meister MM PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    RobWin, your answer works for me. I have 3 computers, one desktop, one Windows laptop, and a MAC. I have played games on all three. Same casinos, different computers. Never had a problem. So after reading all this stuff, I was just curious. However, since I am a 'puter dummy, I really don't care as long as they work.
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Jan 13, 2008
  25. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    Even if you were to wipe your registries, use a proxy server, etc; as Kimss mentioned they can checksum your entire system. Simple 'deletes' still leave the info and just replace the first digit with a 0. I'm pretty sure they can check the following info as well.
    As others have said, there is no sense scamming as there are uncountable bonuses available to honest players. If I were to buy a used computer or a housemate wanted to open accounts I would do as mentioned before - contact the casino, get the permission in writing (mailed to my home, not an email)
     
  26. Jan 13, 2008
  27. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    From KimSS........Remember you infact install the casino on your machine - you give them permission to do checksums on your entire harddrive. As said - it's to easy for them to see it's the same machine.[/QUOTE]

    I have a question for you. I wasn't sure of the definition for checksums so I looked it up on Wikipedia, link here You must register/login in order to see the link.
    How do checksums fit into the picture of casino's being able to check, location, ID, ect.

    Oh......entire harddrive, I don't like the sounds of that.
     
  28. Jan 13, 2008
  29. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    It's a form of signature, like a fingerprint or dna?

    We might be going too deep and there is the potential for exploitation of this info so I'll shut up.
     
  30. Jan 13, 2008
  31. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    OK........I can go with that. :thumbsup:

    The whole harddrive thing creeps me out, however.
    I admit sometimes I do not read the complete EULA when I install software.....I know we should.
     
  32. Jan 13, 2008
  33. lojo

    lojo Banned User - repetitive violations of <a href="ht

    Occupation:
    Tradesman
    Location:
    USA
    It's just data. Not like they scan your 'puter for madcows disease :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  34. Jan 14, 2008
  35. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
     
  36. Jan 14, 2008
  37. kimss

    kimss Senior Member

    Occupation:
    Software developer
    Location:
    Norway
    I am not saying they are doing it, I am just saying it's to easy for them not to do it. In short words, a checksum is the following:

    Say you have a file, the file is digitally stored and contains only 0 and 1, or if you go hexadecimal you have numbers from 0-F (16 different). 32bit, 64bit same ting just longer range (#000000-FFFFFF -> #000000000000 -> #FFFFFFFFFFFF and so on)

    Short said: what a checksum does is add all the numbers in the file, and you get a final number - the checksum. One could easily look for all the network adapters, graphics card and such and do a checksum on theese aswell. Point is, when you install locally you give the software 100% access to your computer. Most computers are not configured the same, so they easily stand out from eachother.

    Infact, but ignore this, they could install a backdoor which stores your Visa information. They could also scan all your files for sensitive information, and send it back to MG HQ. However - all software you install on your computer may do this... That is especially _why_ you should _never_ install unthrusted software, like you get on email from time to time. I would say MG is thrusted software, there should be no doubt about that. However when it comes to detecting a machine, I would not be surprised if they do add some extra information when you logon, and some checksums would be the logical choice, atleast that's what I would do (for starters, hehe).
     
    1 person likes this.
  38. Jan 14, 2008
  39. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    Informative answer Kimss, thanks for the reply. :thumbsup:

    Even sometimes with what you think is trusted software you aren't always safe. Remember the Sony rootkit fiasco from a couple of years ago? Sony ended up paying some nice hefty fines.
     

Share This Page