1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Experience depositing as a Canadian

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by Roanan, Feb 19, 2010.

    Feb 19, 2010
  1. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    Yesterday I went and got myself Money Mart's new pre-paid You must register/login in order to see the link.

    I got the one with the 'pay as you go' fee schedule.

    Free to obtain, $2 to load with a 50c transaction fee.


    Used it to deposit at the two best (according to the CM awards) as well as the best RTG.

    All three deposits were instantly successful with no issues.


    Linking it to a Moneybookers account however is not instant as you have to use the message center to obtain the actual US$ amount charged for verification as they only post in CDN$, but once they respond it's also a smooth method.


    I highly recommend this option for Canadian players.
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. Feb 19, 2010
  3. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    From their site it says 20.00 to buy, 2.00 to load online, .50 transaction fee and 7.50 month maintenance fee. There is an asterisk by the monthly fee, but I couldn't find the explanantion for it anywhere on the site.

    What kind of exchange did MB charge, or did the exchange take place at Visa? I know MB add a premium of 1.99% on forex. Don't need the amount you used, but if you could calculate it per 100.00 that would be great.

    Edit: One last question, what kind of info do you have to supply to them?
     
  4. Feb 19, 2010
  5. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    If you load it when you get it, they don't charge you the $20


    A $60usd deposit via the Visa was charged a total of $65.11cdn
    That included fee and exchange.

    Don't know about MB though as I have only linked the accounts.
    The Visa deposits were so smooth I didn't need to use MB.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Feb 19, 2010
  7. love2winalot

    love2winalot Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Roulette Player
    Location:
    Philippines/Visiting Las vegas
    Hiya: In the banking section of the 3 Casino's, what did you click on to do the deposit's? The Visa logo, usemywallet, what? Thanks.
     
  8. Feb 19, 2010
  9. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    I just clicked Visa.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Feb 19, 2010
  11. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    Just what is required to use Money Mart's other services.

    If you've ever cashed a cheque, gotten a PR loan or had the Titanium MasterCard, they already have what they need.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Feb 19, 2010
  13. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Just went and got one myself, it's free if you had a MC with them before, if not, the card costs 20.00 to buy plus a 2.00 load fee. There is a 7.50 monthly maintenance fee for the pay as you go card.
     
  14. Feb 19, 2010
  15. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    I asked the clerk what the purchase fee was when I got there and she said it was free because I was loading it. There was no mention of the MC
     
  16. Feb 19, 2010
  17. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Well one of them is wrong, I even got the clerk to call the Langley store (she called a couple) and they all said there was a purchase fee unless there was a previous MC. Either you got lucky or I got scammed.

    No matter, we'll see how it works out.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  18. Feb 19, 2010
  19. Roanan

    Roanan Banned User - abusive flamming - misogynist

    Occupation:
    Geek
    Location:
    Langley, BC...in Canada, eh?
    It worked for depositing at the three best casinos (an MGS, an RTG and an independent) so I think this will be one of our best options.
     
  20. Feb 19, 2010
  21. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Depositing is not a problem, so yes, it is a great funding option.

    I did however find this little tidbit in the card agreement, and it sucks...

    I guess this makes using this for cashing out a non-option, but most places won't initiate a payment back to Visa anymore anyways.
     
  22. Feb 20, 2010
  23. Pinababy69

    Pinababy69 RIP Lisa

    Occupation:
    Crusader
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario - Canada
    Well that sucks if it won't work for withdrawals. I'm still going to try a small withdrawal from 32Red, whenever I get enough, lol. They say they can do it...if/when I try it...I'll post the result.

    Agreed on the card...I used the Mastercard one since 2005 when it first came out, and never had a problem with it either, nor a rejection. I honestly don't know why anyone uses anything else. I guess some prefer funding from their bank account...but for me, that's a no go...as I only have a business account. This is perfect for keeping track of your spending as well.
     
  24. Feb 20, 2010
  25. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Well, their CS is terrible, I sent a message to them at noon trying to get the USD test amount that MB did, no answer yet. The website only lists the amount in CAD and I need to know exactly what the amount was in USD. Without knowing this I can't tie it to Moneybookers.

    I tried phoning them twice, over 1/2 hour on the hold each time, this is unacceptable. Then when I was checking my account history, I see they charged me 1.50 per call for absolutely no help. That's thievery at it's finest.

    Then the two transactions I did do for 50.00 and 100.00 cost me 52.00 and 104.00 respectively, not including the .50 transaction fee, and they were both in CAD.

    So far it has cost me 22.40 for the card, 3.00 for phone calls, 9.00 in transaction fees, for a total of about 35.00. Now I know why I hate CC's, they fee you to death. :mad:
     
  26. Feb 20, 2010
  27. Pinababy69

    Pinababy69 RIP Lisa

    Occupation:
    Crusader
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario - Canada
    I never was able to tie my card into MB for that very reason....and Mastercard (the Titanium one) said they couldn't provide me the US amount that MB charged my card. Said all they had access to was the CDN dollar amount.

    Re: fees....that's too much for a CDN dollar deposit. I deposit $20 to 32Red (my casino account is in CDN dollars)...and it costs me $20.50 or something like that...that's including fee. There shouldn't be any exchange or anything like that.

    Getting through on the phone can be a pain in the ass. If you try again, just stay on the line and when you do get through finally, ask them to remove the last two $1.50 service fees.

    Agreed it's not cheap, and yes the fees can add up...but you pay for convencience I guess. Myself I don't mind. I guess if I added up all the fees for the last year, I might feel differently, lol. I just figure it in as part of the cost of gambling online.
     
  28. Feb 21, 2010
  29. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Well I finally got an answer in the message center, and I can't believe the answer I got from them, ridiculous. IMO, without tying this to Moneybookers, this card is useless, and MB states that there is no other way to verify the card.

    They did reverse the 3.00 for the phone calls though.

    They finally updated my transaction history today, and it shows a 3% Foreign Exchange Transaction fee on both CAD deposits?????
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  30. Feb 22, 2010
  31. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Just received the latest crappy answers from Titanium.

    If they don't work in any other currency, how the hell did they accept a USD charge?? Roanan, how did you get this amount?

    WTF????? So if I make a transaction IN CAD FUNDS to a vendor in Canada it's at par, but if they're based outside of Canada there's a foreign transaction fee??????? Ridiculous!

    Looks like I'm passing this piece of garbage over to Edward Scissorhands.

    Can we rogue a payment provider?
     
  32. Feb 22, 2010
  33. Dangerous53

    Dangerous53 Experienced Member

    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    In the wind
    Well, my deposit of 100.00 to 32red was subject to a 3% foreign transaction fee, cost me 103.50, and mine is in CAD too.
     

Share This Page