Disconnects, Freezes, Slow games, failed deposits - Heads in the sand......

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Here is yet another prime example of how something that is marketed as "entertainment" can end up causing more stress than some of the most stressful occupations on the planet.

Heads have been in the sand (or up their arses) for YEARS on this one issue.:mad::mad::mad:

This was AFTER nearly an HOUR spent just trying to load the casino, deposit, enter the promo, and get the $"** game to load in the first place:mad:
 

RobWin

closed account
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Location
A Vault!
Here is yet another prime example of how something that is marketed as "entertainment" can end up causing more stress than some of the most stressful occupations on the planet.

Heads have been in the sand (or up their arses) for YEARS on this one issue.:mad::mad::mad:

This was AFTER nearly an HOUR spent just trying to load the casino, deposit, enter the promo, and get the $"** game to load in the first place:mad:

Vinyl it sounds like you might need a major system tune up or overhaul. I never have any of these issues with MG on my system, what kind of internet connection do you have ...dial up, dsl, cable, T1 line ?
 
Last edited:

lots0

Banned User - troll posts - flaming
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Location
Hell on Earth
VWM - you might also want to clean out your registry (if your on a windows PC).

Installing and uninstalling a lot of programs will screw with the windows registry.
 

mysticjoz

Dormant account
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Location
somewhere... over the rainbow!
ok i guess this thread is meant for me also... this has been an on going problem with me at 3dice! (is it strange that they said these don't show on thier end?) It kinda stinks happening in real play.
 

peteyweestro

Experienced Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Location
So Cal...Antelope Valley
anytime i try to play med moolah at 3dice if i leave their chat window open or if i even minimize it or any other programs are running it will disconnect before i can even make it to the actual game, it really does suck....sometimes when i try super suites it disconnects alot
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Vinyl it sounds like you might need a major system tune up or overhaul. I never have any of these issues with MG on my system, what kind of internet connection do you have ...dial up, dsl, cable, T1 line ?

I don't believe it has anything to do with my PC, as this problem is specific to certain Microgaming casinos. I could be having these problems at one, but be able to connect and play normally at another half dozen.

This is a new PC, running XP with all the Microsoft updates installed. This is the kind of PC that the majority of players will have, and it this majority that the software should be tuned for. Clearly, it is possible to enhance the performance by upgrading, cleaning, defragmenting, etc, but none of this will be any good if the game result simply does not return from the server. It seems the Viper lobby does not have anythig to take into account the problems that might occasionally occur over the internet. If the game result does not turn up, the Viper lobby does nothing to resolve the situation, such as asking for the packet to be resent by the casino server.
In this session, it did not completely disconnect, the results DID return, but with huge delays, as though the data was stuck in a "traffic jam" on the internet somewhere. It could also be a problem of overload at the server, with a delay between receiving the "spin" request from the player and sending out the game result. This server delay is VERY EVIDENT with the Microgaming tournaments, since it is far more common, and more severe, than with the general lobby games. It shows that delays DO happen at the actual casino servers, and not just over the internet.

I have investigated this with "Sniphere", a local packet sniffer, which shows that it is the late, or non arrival, of the game result from the internet that causes the lobby to fail to display the game result, rather than a failure of the local casino software to act on the received data.
 

RobWin

closed account
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Location
A Vault!
I don't believe it has anything to do with my PC, as this problem is specific to certain Microgaming casinos. I could be having these problems at one, but be able to connect and play normally at another half dozen.

This is a new PC, running XP with all the Microsoft updates installed. This is the kind of PC that the majority of players will have, and it this majority that the software should be tuned for. Clearly, it is possible to enhance the performance by upgrading, cleaning, defragmenting, etc, but none of this will be any good if the game result simply does not return from the server. It seems the Viper lobby does not have anythig to take into account the problems that might occasionally occur over the internet. If the game result does not turn up, the Viper lobby does nothing to resolve the situation, such as asking for the packet to be resent by the casino server.
In this session, it did not completely disconnect, the results DID return, but with huge delays, as though the data was stuck in a "traffic jam" on the internet somewhere. It could also be a problem of overload at the server, with a delay between receiving the "spin" request from the player and sending out the game result. This server delay is VERY EVIDENT with the Microgaming tournaments, since it is far more common, and more severe, than with the general lobby games. It shows that delays DO happen at the actual casino servers, and not just over the internet.

I have investigated this with "Sniphere", a local packet sniffer, which shows that it is the late, or non arrival, of the game result from the internet that causes the lobby to fail to display the game result, rather than a failure of the local casino software to act on the received data.


That sounds most likely what happened at the servers on their end. Maybe you could check to see if other casinos within the same group act the same way since they would be on the same servers...
 

mysticjoz

Dormant account
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Location
somewhere... over the rainbow!
anytime i try to play med moolah at 3dice if i leave their chat window open or if i even minimize it or any other programs are running it will disconnect before i can even make it to the actual game, it really does suck....sometimes when i try super suites it disconnects alot

Me Too!! :confused:

BTW to all my 3dice chat friends I am not being rude.:mad:. It just doesn't run the same it's way toooooo sllloowwww .. and then all the disconnects/connectings are frustrating. But I did notice that if I am playing in a tourney my connection speed is faster (I still have disconnects in tourney mode also). I have at least 10 screen shots of disconnects or reconnectings (in real and tourney modes), sometimes it is so fast that I don't capture the "connecting" box.
I have sent in the "bug" reports. But ... I have yet to find out what or if there is a solution to this besides getting a new computer. :mad:
 

peteyweestro

Experienced Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Location
So Cal...Antelope Valley
yes mystic thats why when i first login to 3dice i stop by the chat and say hello then a couple of minutes later i close it out or i can't play, i hope peeps there don't think i'm just being rude either
 

brianzz

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Location
TN
VWM, I experience this same delay or continous spinning of the reels when playing at Fortune Lounge casinos, every day, consistantly between 6 and 8 AM EST. Support is no help at all (I'm shocked) they say everything is fine on their end. I chalk it up to game servers being rebooted at microgaming, since all MG casinos CLAIM the games are run on MG servers and the casinos websites have nothing to do with it.

You could clarify this for us with the packet sniffer, if all MG's are using about the same IP to get game results from.
 

RobWin

closed account
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Location
A Vault!
Me Too!! :confused:

BTW to all my 3dice chat friends I am not being rude.:mad:. It just doesn't run the same it's way toooooo sllloowwww .. and then all the disconnects/connectings are frustrating. But I did notice that if I am playing in a tourney my connection speed is faster (I still have disconnects in tourney mode also). I have at least 10 screen shots of disconnects or reconnectings (in real and tourney modes), sometimes it is so fast that I don't capture the "connecting" box.
I have sent in the "bug" reports. But ... I have yet to find out what or if there is a solution to this besides getting a new computer. :mad:

mysticjoz, try this when you first log on:

Go to the little gear wheel in the top left corner of the home screen and click on "Optimize for Quality"

Next go right back to the gear wheel icon and click on "Optimize for Speed" and see if this helps
 

same_old

Dormant account
webmeister
PABaccred
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Location
Australia
It's souding more like SERVER delay's, Vinyl as a test try logging into Lucky Nugget at a different time (say later at night your time) see if you still get the same delay as say in the morning, if the site is having a lot of traffic at certain times of the day then it can cause a delay.
It does seem funny how it happens with certain casino;s and not others for you, it would be good if you could find out where the servers are located aswell so you can compare.
The packet flow program nifty was talking about would be good to see your incoming and out going packet flow (i use a packet flow program for games).
 

mysticjoz

Dormant account
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Location
somewhere... over the rainbow!
mysticjoz, try this when you first log on:

Go to the little gear wheel in the top left corner of the home screen and click on "Optimize for Quality"

Next go right back to the gear wheel icon and click on "Optimize for Speed" and see if this helps

Thanks rob, that is the first thing i take care of... but I am still getting slow spins (really slow) and disconnects. I waited a long time before depositting again because I feel like I am just putting money into a casino and am not connected. (the balance just goes down, down, down.) I know this is part of gambling. So I took a break and did just tourneys... the same thing.. down ,down, down and not one free spin round for slot tourneys!

Tonight I gave into my impulses and depositted just $10. I got the same thing. What is so strange is the disconnect is so fast... and the reels are so slow that it's taking every bit of "confidence" that I MIGHT have left in 3dice to deposit!! Tonight proved to be the same old, same old... slow, slow, disconnect. $$ gone! :mad:
They were the only online casino I trusted. But, this happens every single session (tourney or real)!.. so now I play tourneys IF I play there at all.
I wish someone would address the problem! :mad:
I know it's not just me, as I have seen others in chat (when playing tourneys) talking about the same issues.!
(I thought it was my computer, so I used my boys computer which is way faster and more dependable, and lo and behold disconnects!) the problem there, if playing with real $$ it goes alot faster when I use thier computer! :lolup:
 

RobWin

closed account
Joined
Apr 24, 2004
Location
A Vault!
Thanks rob, that is the first thing i take care of... but I am still getting slow spins (really slow) and disconnects. I waited a long time before depositting again because I feel like I am just putting money into a casino and am not connected. (the balance just goes down, down, down.) I know this is part of gambling. So I took a break and did just tourneys... the same thing.. down ,down, down and not one free spin round for slot tourneys!

Tonight I gave into my impulses and depositted just $10. I got the same thing. What is so strange is the disconnect is so fast... and the reels are so slow that it's taking every bit of "confidence" that I MIGHT have left in 3dice to deposit!! Tonight proved to be the same old, same old... slow, slow, disconnect. $$ gone! :mad:
They were the only online casino I trusted. But, this happens every single session (tourney or real)!.. so now I play tourneys IF I play there at all.
I wish someone would address the problem! :mad:
I know it's not just me, as I have seen others in chat (when playing tourneys) talking about the same issues.!
(I thought it was my computer, so I used my boys computer which is way faster and more dependable, and lo and behold disconnects!) the problem there, if playing with real $$ it goes alot faster when I use thier computer! :lolup:

Hey, yea there have been quite a few of us talking about how the play and payback really sucks there now in this thread:

https://www.casinomeister.com/forums/threads/whats-up-tut.22466/

I thought that might fix your slow play thought as I have to actually do that same process each time I log on or it's real slow...
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
VWM, I experience this same delay or continous spinning of the reels when playing at Fortune Lounge casinos, every day, consistantly between 6 and 8 AM EST. Support is no help at all (I'm shocked) they say everything is fine on their end. I chalk it up to game servers being rebooted at microgaming, since all MG casinos CLAIM the games are run on MG servers and the casinos websites have nothing to do with it.

You could clarify this for us with the packet sniffer, if all MG's are using about the same IP to get game results from.

I have often found particular time windows are far worse than others. For me, the times between 11am and 2 pm are particularly bad, and this is around 6 to 8 am EST. So it seems it does not matter which country the player is from, and therefore which ISP they use, the problematic time window is the same. I also find support find no problems at their end, but this is to be expected as they are not in the same position as players when it comes to accessing the casino. Support may also be checking the website, and not the casino server, which again would show no problems. The other thing is that by the time support read the Email, pass it to tech support, who pass it to Microgaming, the problem has gone away, so again checks will show no problems.

Players often have to solve such problems themselves, and indeed we, as a group, DID manage to improve the performance of the MG multi-player tournaments, and were we thanked, NO! Microgaming then simply found another way to implement the "problem" by a different method at the server end, and this lead to a cascade of new problems with these tournaments that continue to this day:mad:

MG can deny this, but they have been thoroughly busted by one of my "experiments".
On of these days, when promotions dry up, I may run this experiment again, take a video, and put it on youtube for all to see. So, better keep those promos rolling in eh Microgaming;)
 
Top