1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Did Fortune Lounge give them my info?

Discussion in 'Casino Spam Complaints' started by anniemac, Dec 9, 2011.

    Dec 9, 2011
  1. anniemac

    anniemac Ueber Meister MM PABnoaccred

    Texas, USA
    Received this little goody in my gmail account today. The x's indicate my first name and my actual gmail account. I didn't have a gmail account when I signed up at Fortune Lounge years ago.

    So did Fortune Lounge sell them my info or are they just sneaky little spammers?

    Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
    1 person likes this.
  2. Dec 9, 2011
  3. chayton

    chayton aka LooHoo CAG PABnonaccred webmeister

    Freelance Designer
    Edmonton Canada
    I'd vote for 'sneaky little spammers' - remember a year or so ago there was some spammer who said they were the replacements for ClubWorld? This sounds like the same sort of thing, they're just using a well known casino group name to A: get through your spam filters, and B: to gain some legitimacy.

    IMO anyhow. But of course I've been wrong before. :)
  4. Dec 9, 2011
  5. LHofsdal

    LHofsdal Ueber Meister MM

    I think it is spammers also, look at the places they are promoting, aren't they all on the rogue list?

  6. Dec 9, 2011
  7. fortunelounge

    fortunelounge Dormant account

    Operations Manager
    South Africa
    Fortune Lounge had nothing to do with the mail anniemac refers to and we certainly did not give anyone permission to be our "replacement" in the US.

    We will not, under any circumstances, share our database with anyone. As anniemac pointed out, the gmail address she received the mail on is not a listed e-mail address with us.

    VP Operations
    Fortune Lounge Group
    1 person likes this.
  8. Dec 9, 2011
  9. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    STILL At Leisure
    United Kingdom
    The problem is that some well known casinos HAVE authorised others to be their US replacements. For example, All Slots passed the baton to Jackpot Capital, and even their website redirects there if visited from the US. This policy has left it wide open to abuse from scammers who can just choose a reputable casino group that has pulled out of the US, and claim that they have "authorised" whatever bottom feeders they are promoting to be their "official replacement". Many casinos also cloaked this referral policy in secrecy, rather than be open about it from the start with their US players.

    This has made it very hard for US players to sort the scammers from the genuine referral deals.

    The only defence is for players to do their research in ALL cases, even if it is a genuine referral deal, and decide to play (or not) purely on the merits of the promoted venue, and give NO favour just because it has been (allegedly) "recommended by xxxxxxxxx" where they used to play and get well treated.
    1 person likes this.
  10. Dec 9, 2011
  11. anniemac

    anniemac Ueber Meister MM PABnoaccred

    Texas, USA
    I really didn't think Fortune Lounge had anything to do with it, but you never know. Anyway, Wim replied via PM and is taking care of it.
  12. Dec 9, 2011
  13. mattsgame

    mattsgame Meister Member CAG webmeister

    Out Of Town
    NVM TY
  14. Dec 9, 2011
  15. Deanna

    Deanna Senior Member

    I got that exact same email! Delete. :)
  16. Dec 12, 2011
  17. Silencio

    Silencio Dormant account

    Delete ... and most importantly > report
    Special thanks to the topic starter, cause seriously if everyone does their duty and report 1 of these ..... every now and then, I think there will be a good chance it will stop.
    1 successful report and follow up by the brand, and the spammer could loose his revenue, completely :D oh joy :D
    2 people like this.

Share This Page