1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Computer Problem!

Discussion in 'The Attic' started by Matthew23, Feb 4, 2008.

    Feb 4, 2008
  1. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Seems like something went very wrong when uninstalling all these casinos......

    My computer is so slooooooooooow and messed up. I don't know what else to try. I've run 4 or 5 antivirus and spyware programs but nothing helps.

    Computer wont start in safe mode, I continuously get error messages, programs fail to load, I keep getting pop-ups, control panel in unable to open and all system restores have been deleted somehow....

    Is there anything else I can try before I format?
     
  2. Feb 4, 2008
  3. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You do have a nasty virus it seems. That "xxxHolmesxxxx.exe" in the popup that's showing shouldn't even be in your windows directory at all. I'm sure the virus stuck it there.

    It's also apparent, by the fact that you can't even run in safe mode, that it's definitely a virus.

    Can you still run regedit? (Start > Run > Regedit) If so, then you can go in there and take out unknown entries, which will keep them from running when the system starts. You can find detailed instructions on doing this at You must register/login in order to see the link.

    It sounds like your current copy of windows is a basket case. If the above doesn't work, I'd suggest a format and reinstall.

    edit: And once you reinstall, quit using IE! I've NEVER had a virus since switching to Firefox. :D

    You must register/login in order to see the link.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Feb 4, 2008
  5. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Thanks for the quick response winbig :)

    It would appear there is nothing abnormal launching at system start up, but there must be because the errors start occurring almost immediately.

    I am so pissed off because I'm almost sure this happened as a result of uninstalling a casino. I uninstalled around 15 different casinos and when I finally finished I started having these problems that progressively got worse until my computer is almost unusable.

    I give them 10,000's of pounds and when I decide to quit they say F U and give me a virus......at least that is how it feels.... of course it could just be a big coincidence :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  6. Feb 4, 2008
  7. RobWin

    RobWin closed account

    Occupation:
    Who knows?
    Location:
    A Vault!
    Matthew, if there is anyway you can still download...you could download the free edition of AVG and I believe that it would still quarantine the virus for you...
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Feb 4, 2008
  9. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    To be honest, here's the lowdown on the situation:

    1) The system loads the complete registry every time you boot up.
    2) Having a large registry causes slowdowns, even after booting.
    3) The casinos uninstall program never removes every entry from the registry. This will cause your computer to still run slow, because the registry is so large.
    4) It would take longer to go in the registry and take out each of those entries that were left behind than it would to reinstall XP and the programs you want on your system :D
    4a) If you do have a virus, it's still possible to not get rid of it by deleting references to it in the registry (even if you could find it). It could still pop back up at any given time.

    EDIT: BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING:

    can you open up regedit and search for holmes ?

    It'd be interesting to see where in the registry this is, and what it's associated with.
     
    2 people like this.
  10. Feb 5, 2008
  11. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    thanks robwin :), that was one of the programs I tried, unfortunitly it didn't find anything :confused:

    winbig I done what you said and it returned this result, what do I do from here :)
     
  12. Feb 5, 2008
  13. RobWin

    RobWin closed account

    Occupation:
    Who knows?
    Location:
    A Vault!
    Matthew, did you run a full system scan with AVG ?
     
  14. Feb 5, 2008
  15. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    I tried 'full scan' many times but my computer was running way too slow and the program kept freezing and then my laptop would overheat and shut down :rolleyes:

    I just checked for the quickest "full scan" software and found it to be "Spyware Detector".

    I just finished running it and it has returned "Vundo trojan" as the main threat You must register/login in order to see the link.

    It wont fix it because I have to buy the software first :rolleyes:

    Anyway I'll see what I can do tomorrow to fix it as im too tired now......these problems always seem 100 times worse when tired :)

    thanks for your help guys :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
    1 person likes this.
  16. Feb 5, 2008
  17. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    Matthew23...........I've been a member of this You must register/login in order to see the link. website for several years. They have many forums with one being security cleanup . There are a lot of folks who have major expertise with removing problems such as yours without a format of your hard drive. From my understanding Vundo is a difficult one to clean your computer of, but it is possible. If you'd like for them to help, go here. You must register/login in order to see the link.

    Yes it's free!:cool:


    Please read the faq and follow all mandatory steps before posting the results of any of the tests in that forum, if you don't they will not assist you.

    It's a major pain in the as* to go thru all the steps, but so is formatting and reinstalling.......especially if you are lacking good backups. ;) and a clean up might be your preference.

    Just found this on the site....You must register/login in order to see the link. It's a link that gives specific instructions for a vundo fix without going through the forum first. It wouldn't hurt to try that first.


    Good luck!
    BB
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Feb 5, 2008
  19. USA2112

    USA2112 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Rehab old dwellings and playing music/guitar/etc..
    Location:
    USA
    If all else fails, Spy Sweeper from webroot it will definitely find and remove this virus. You can download a free trial here, You must register/login in order to see the link. not sure if the free trial will come with the virus removal option without buying the product first. Good luck!
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Feb 5, 2008
  21. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    FYI........
    If Matthew's problem is Vundo.
    Vundo is not a virus, it is a adware serving Trojan and from the things I've read about it, he would probably be advisable for him to get some expert help or format his computer. One particular antivirus or spyware product is probably not going to get rid of it and more than likely he has multiple infections of different sorts.
     
    1 person likes this.
  22. Feb 5, 2008
  23. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Your best bet, if you want to keep your current windows installation, is to find a good AV program that has a CD that you can boot off of and run a scan from the version of DOS that is on there. This way is the best because of the fact that none of the spyware/adware/virii can load into memory since you're not even loading windows.

    I know Norton's has a setup such as that but not sure of any others.
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Feb 11, 2008
  25. happygobrokey

    happygobrokey Dormant account

    Occupation:
    student of life
    Location:
    canada
    i've had vundo. there is a program called "fixvundo" or "vundokiller" or something that is designed to root out and destroy the vundo infection. however i wouldn't just download it and run it and assume you're okay. when i visited geekstogo forum, the malware team walked me through it (via forum correspondence) to make sure it was eradicated from my system.

    i believe i still have some "dead links" in my system from the procedure, but it's better than having a trojan. this vundo was keeping me from using the internet effectively, booting safe mode, it took away my command prompt and my registry access and disappeared my "shut down" and "run" button. a couple other things you will need for the techxperts to help you out are "combofix" and "hijackthis". these are scanner-type things that the geeks use to see whether you've successfully disinfected your system.

    so head to castlecops or geekstogo or any other such forum, and let the malware removal gurus help you get clean. best of luck! :thumbsup:
     
    1 person likes this.
  26. Feb 11, 2008
  27. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    It turned out the vundo thing was just one of many problems. I have no idea how I got these viruses as I'm always very careful with what I download. I didn't do anyting unusual. All I did was uninstall a lot of casinos :confused:

    I got a lot of advice from the sites recommended here but I couldn't really follow the steps as my computer was just too slow to run anything ie fixvundo.

    I have to say im glad I did format. :) It's so refreshing for things to work instantly and not have to wait 3 minutes just for a program to open, then freeze, then crash :rolleyes:
     
  28. Feb 11, 2008
  29. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania

    It just takes 1 unruly site plus running IE :rolleyes: to get a virus. Many times it has nothing to do with what you download. IE is so vulnerable in many areas, it's easy for attackers to install a virus without your knowledge.

    My suggestion is to get Firefox and use it when you're off in no-mans land.

    You must register/login in order to see the link.
     
  30. Feb 11, 2008
  31. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    I'd also like to add that it's very important to keep windows updated with the latest patches. A lot of open vulnerabilities are bypassed by keeping your system up to date. Also I should mention it' s important to keep your java updated and you must uninstall the old java versions as there is a vulnerability in keeping the old ones on your system.

    I use firefox myself......except for a few sites that will not work in FF.

    :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  32. Feb 11, 2008
  33. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount. webby PABnononaccred

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I second that motion, but keep in mind it can take weeks - if not months - for Microsoft to release a patch for exploits...ranging from small, to well known threats.

    I remember quite a few exploits for both Windows and IE (they go hand in hand sometimes) that were well known & documented, but yet M$ drug their a$$es in fixing the problem....
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  34. Feb 11, 2008
  35. Matthew23

    Matthew23 Dormant account

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    I always use firefox and my computer is auto updated. I also have anti-virus and use several anti-spyware programs.

    This was the first time ever something like this happened to me.

    I follow every rule on how to keep your computer safe..... it seems that it is not enough now-a-days :confused:
     
  36. Mar 2, 2008
  37. Mousey

    Mousey Ueber Meister Mouse CAG

    Occupation:
    Pencil Pusher
    Location:
    Up$hitCreek
    Hubby's computer just got hit with driveby install. Didn't click on anything, but Norton's went nuts. The more it uninstalls, the more the damn things come back. What a freakin' mess.

    Going to go tear my hair out....

    (now almost bald)... Nortons is apparently useless. I have disconnect hubby's computer from internet and am now running Spybot. I've never seen so much $hit on one computer. And it was installed without clicking on anything, and with Nortons righteously hovering in the wings. POS.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  38. Mar 2, 2008
  39. bb28

    bb28 Meister Member

    Occupation:
    Customer Service
    Location:
    US
    Hey Mousey,
    Spybot is good but it won't take care of all issues.
    I recommend you go here and follow the instructions. You must register/login in order to see the link.
    If you don't feel it's clean after then you can post on that forum for help.

    Good Luck!
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page