changing where MG installs

ssecca01

Experienced Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Location
Australia
I was wondering if anyone knew how to change the default of where Microgaming viper client installs? Is it just a matter of cut and pasting or will that not work? l just bought a new laptop and the hard drive is separated into 3 different drives. I want to put the casinos on a different drive than the standard 'C:' drive where all the OS files are. I am sure the answer is posted somewhere in the forums but damned If I can find it.

If anyone can help I would be very grateful :)
 

Slotaholic

Dormant Account
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Location
Sweden
Hi
I dont think its possible because its coded in the setup.exe file.
Changing that is possible but not that easy.
 

ksech

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Location
Here
Your C drive is your hard drive, your D drive is your CD rom/dvd/burner and I'm not sure what your third drive would be (someone who has a laptop could answer this?). Unless you have another harddrive installed or an external harddrive, the MG will install to your C drive (and most MG casinos are large files if I remember correctly.. VWM, where are you????).
 

bsilva028

Banned : multi-account fraudster
PABaccred
PABnoaccred
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Location
portugal
Your C drive is your hard drive, your D drive is your CD rom/dvd/burner and I'm not sure what your third drive would be (someone who has a laptop could answer this?). Unless you have another harddrive installed or an external harddrive, the MG will install to your C drive (and most MG casinos are large files if I remember correctly.. VWM, where are you????).

you could have more than 1 internal hard drive in a laptop

oyu can "build" 2 or 3 partitions for the same hard drive making "c:, d:, e:" like the 3 hard drives....

but mg will install allways on c: (primary hard drive)
 

Seventh777

RIP Roy
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Location
Planet Tharg, dark side, where nothing grows.
What bsilva said, you should always partition your hard drive, that way if you have to reinstall your OS you wont lose everything on your PC ;).

P.S.
You can copy individual casinos from the Microgaming folder and paste them to another drive, you can probably do this with the actual folder, but when you install a new casino it will automatically create a new Microgaming folder on C drive, so the best idea is just copy and paste every new casino install :).
 

zap987

Meister Member
PABnononaccred2
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Location
Sweden
Really wish they would fix this already. Been a problem for a long time and they seem to not care about their customers.
 

GrandMaster

Dormant account
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Location
UK
What bsilva said, you should always partition your hard drive, that way if you have to reinstall your OS you wont lose everything on your PC ;).

P.S.
You can copy individual casinos from the Microgaming folder and paste them to another drive, you can probably do this with the actual folder, but when you install a new casino it will automatically create a new Microgaming folder on C drive, so the best idea is just copy and paste every new casino install :).
I wouldn't recommend this since there will be dozens of registry entries pointing to the C: drive where the casino was originally installed.
 

Slotaholic

Dormant Account
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Location
Sweden
Its alot that needs to be changed,you cant just copy the installation folder to another partition.
You have alot of registry entrys that needs to be changed to that they point to the new location and you will need to move all data,most of the cashed files are under the folder programdata\mgs,i think its around 9GB in total.

MG needs to rewrite the installation file so that you can pick where you want to place the cashed program data files and installation files.
 

PaaskeDenmark

Always think positive
webmeister
PABnoaccred
CAG
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Location
UnKnown
you could have more than 1 internal hard drive in a laptop

oyu can "build" 2 or 3 partitions for the same hard drive making "c:, d:, e:" like the 3 hard drives....

but mg will install allways on c: (primary hard drive)

Hi there

This is not correct :rolleyes:

If you have several partitions.
Lets say windows on them. Then if you install casino on partition D: then it will use D: as the install folder....
But maybe i misunderstand you, and you just mean she cant just put on d drive. As it will be C: original :) :cool:
 

Slotaholic

Dormant Account
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Location
Sweden
Hi there

This is not correct :rolleyes:

If you have several partitions.
Lets say windows on them. Then if you install casino on partition D: then it will use D: as the install folder....
But maybe i misunderstand you, and you just mean she cant just put on d drive. As it will be C: original :) :cool:


I doesnt matter on what partition you install the casino,because the cashed data files will be stored in c:\programdata\mgs anyway.
This applys to MG casinos.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Your C drive is your hard drive, your D drive is your CD rom/dvd/burner and I'm not sure what your third drive would be (someone who has a laptop could answer this?). Unless you have another harddrive installed or an external harddrive, the MG will install to your C drive (and most MG casinos are large files if I remember correctly.. VWM, where are you????).


been busy - second time this month!
 

Attachments

  • PICT0031.jpg
    PICT0031.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 64

bsilva028

Banned : multi-account fraudster
PABaccred
PABnoaccred
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Location
portugal
I was wondering if anyone knew how to change the default of where Microgaming viper client installs? Is it just a matter of cut and pasting or will that not work? l just bought a new laptop and the hard drive is separated into 3 different drives. I want to put the casinos on a different drive than the standard 'C:' drive where all the OS files are. I am sure the answer is posted somewhere in the forums but damned If I can find it.

If anyone can help I would be very grateful :)

or, instead of copy each casino

other files you were to put in c: Poetry in d:
and you were to put casinos in d: Poetry in c:
exchange

in my idea and the best thing to do, and that's how I got
 

ssecca01

Experienced Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Location
Australia
Thanks for all the replies everyone. So basically there's nothing I can do unless I want to do a lot of fiddling with registry files (which I have no idea how to do) so I guess I'll just leave em where they are. As some of you have said, MG really needs to change the installer to give the user the option of changing where it installs.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
@VWM, you're forgiven! BTW, she's gorgeous...errr what's in the cup????:rolleyes:

Looks like chocolate milkshake, her favourite.

Thanks for all the replies everyone. So basically there's nothing I can do unless I want to do a lot of fiddling with registry files (which I have no idea how to do) so I guess I'll just leave em where they are. As some of you have said, MG really needs to change the installer to give the user the option of changing where it installs.

Oddly enough, MGS once allowed the option of "custom install", so rather than something MGS need to develop, it is something they once had right from the early days, and decided to REMOVE during one of their software changes.

What are you new, or somethin'? Milk will black a kid out faster than booze! :p

What a beautiful child!

She is beautiful in that state, but it doesn't happen very often. This was from last year, and she is now 3. She can do much more for herself now, and is fully potty trained (this saves me from one of the worst chores). Unfortunately, some of the things she can do for herself includes raiding the fridge, tipping a cup of juice over me when I am in bed, thinking that "I'm busy" means "talk louder", and of course hacking my CM account and thanking every builder, Aussie, and Canuk that comes along:p

She was here over the new year, and again last weekend (thurs to sun).

She has yet to crack the new security arrangements (Babydan), but she is VERY close to figuring it out, and may now have the strength, if not the dexterity, to end up in my fridge once again.

When she is here, she strictly rations the time I am allowed on the PC to an hour or two in the morning, and in the evening after bedtime (which is not much use because by then I am knackered).

I also find that random stuff simply disappears, such as pens, TV remotes, etc. She can also climb everything in sight that will support her weight, and broke a small table that didn't quite manage to support her weight trying to get access to the stuff on the TV table.
 

ksech

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Location
Here
@takethemoney...(not new LOL, enjoying grandma status!LMAO...spoil 'em and send 'em home! But mine are older now 9 and 13, so am 'teaching' them different things to "irritate" their parents:D)
LOL was wondering if VWM was making her some mimosas!:p From the looks of her surroundings she looks like she had been a busy little lady, no wonder she is so tired! And threes are definitely worse than twos! At 2 they are just learning to walk, at 3 they RUN! At 2 they are learning to say words, at 3 they say sentences and can SCREAM! At 3 they can climb, they can break things, temper tantrums are far worse, and boy can they run fast! Make sure you hide all your markers, she may decide to "color" the next time she visits (and it may not be on paper...:eek::D)


The thing with MG (if I remember correctly) when you go to uninstall, they leave behind little "gems" so you may want to do a complete search of your computer/laptop to make sure you get all the hidden stuff too.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
@takethemoney...(not new LOL, enjoying grandma status!LMAO...spoil 'em and send 'em home! But mine are older now 9 and 13, so am 'teaching' them different things to "irritate" their parents:D)
LOL was wondering if VWM was making her some mimosas!:p From the looks of her surroundings she looks like she had been a busy little lady, no wonder she is so tired! And threes are definitely worse than twos! At 2 they are just learning to walk, at 3 they RUN! At 2 they are learning to say words, at 3 they say sentences and can SCREAM! At 3 they can climb, they can break things, temper tantrums are far worse, and boy can they run fast! Make sure you hide all your markers, she may decide to "color" the next time she visits (and it may not be on paper...:eek::D)


The thing with MG (if I remember correctly) when you go to uninstall, they leave behind little "gems" so you may want to do a complete search of your computer/laptop to make sure you get all the hidden stuff too.


Too late:mad:

My desk fan has been "coloured in", and she drew all over herself.

She belongs to my niece, who made it her mission to irritate me when she was little. This opportunity for revenge has not gone unnoticed:D

I aim to teach her words that will irritate the hell out of her parents, such as "cumulonimbus", "confiscated" (she has almost mastered this one;) ), along with a few "logical arguments" to put to them when she is a little older.

She already has quite an interest in my "games" on the PC, but I always tell her she can only play them when she is 18.

She is likely to "confiscate" one of my computers soon, as the only way to keep her off mine will be to put the "budget" model in her room when she is old enough. By this time there will be TWO of them, as the minimum age for them coming here just with me has been set at between 2 and a half and 3 (by ME, they tried to get me to have the other one at 10/11 months, along with the 2 year old). This would probably have been too much.

"her room" was once my office, where I did most of my playing, posting, and financials. My "office" is now split into odd spaces around the house.
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
.... as for the pesky MGS installs, I think there MAY be a solution, but it would involve changing some "environmental variables" that Windows uses to determine where "stuff" is supposed to go. Success depends on whether MGS have hard coded C:\microgaming\casino\ in the installer, or have used these variables to construct the install path as %root%\microgaming\casino\

The current installer is only a download manager, which downloads and installs the casino in one step, and then seems to delete the downloaded file.

The common files are placed where Windows dictates such files are placed, so this probably could be changed by altering environmental variables.

The problem is that in making these alterations, there is a danger of breaking something else.

Experiments are probably best done on a "spare" machine, and only used on the main machine if they work.

I have not had the need to do anything other than let MGS have it's own way, so this is not something I have spent a great deal of time on.

The common files now exceed 10 Gig, and grow every time new games are added. Some of these new games have significant amounts of new data, so this common cache is set to become MUCH larger in the future. MGS may eventually be forced to do something because increasing numbers of players will encounter problems with the software because they do not have "gaming rigs". There have already been significant issues witl getting MGS to work on netbooks, and now it seems laptop users are beginning to encounter problems, which is why we have this thread.

I now have all the parts for the upgrade for my gaming PC, so I will get to see whether I can get significant improvements with the software.
 

ksech

Dormant account
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Location
Here
It's been a long time since I looked at a "store" bought computer...what are the average Harddrive/processor/RAM specs nowadays? When I built my pc (eek) 7 years ago I installed dual 300 gig HDs, which was a lot of space back then. I used one for just gaming and the other for everything else. I'm finding now my processor is too slow (1.2GHz) for even some of the games from BigFish that I download :mad:

I'm hoping this pc lasts for at least another year. Can't afford to replace it right now, figured it would cost me a minimum of $700 to build myself a new pc. I want to be able to play games when/if US players get the okay to legally play again, but I want a computer that's going to be able to keep up with all the changes that have taken place in the last 3-4 years too.
 

bsilva028

Banned : multi-account fraudster
PABaccred
PABnoaccred
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Location
portugal
It's been a long time since I looked at a "store" bought computer...what are the average Harddrive/processor/RAM specs nowadays? When I built my pc (eek) 7 years ago I installed dual 300 gig HDs, which was a lot of space back then. I used one for just gaming and the other for everything else. I'm finding now my processor is too slow (1.2GHz) for even some of the games from BigFish that I download :mad:

I'm hoping this pc lasts for at least another year. Can't afford to replace it right now, figured it would cost me a minimum of $700 to build myself a new pc. I want to be able to play games when/if US players get the okay to legally play again, but I want a computer that's going to be able to keep up with all the changes that have taken place in the last 3-4 years too.

well i have a core ir (3.2) eith 1 tb disk space and 4gb ram

it has a few months
 

ssecca01

Experienced Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Location
Australia
It's been a long time since I looked at a "store" bought computer...what are the average Harddrive/processor/RAM specs nowadays? When I built my pc (eek) 7 years ago I installed dual 300 gig HDs, which was a lot of space back then. I used one for just gaming and the other for everything else. I'm finding now my processor is too slow (1.2GHz) for even some of the games from BigFish that I download :mad:

I'm hoping this pc lasts for at least another year. Can't afford to replace it right now, figured it would cost me a minimum of $700 to build myself a new pc. I want to be able to play games when/if US players get the okay to legally play again, but I want a computer that's going to be able to keep up with all the changes that have taken place in the last 3-4 years too.

My laptop is an intel core i7 2.2GHz with 750+750GB HDs and 16GB of RAM.
 
Top