Casino shell stops working when playing certain slots

ajernig

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Location
NYC
I had no problem until I downloaded an anti-virus program that turned out to be expired. Now whenever I play an RTG slot like the naugthy list, the nice list, bubble, bubble or any slot with big graphics, it stops the program. The casinos work fine on other laptops. Don't know how to get restore . point on Windows 10. I don't want to wipe laptop. Any suggestions?
 

pmutts

Dormant account
PABnonaccred
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Location
North Texas
Yes I had the same problem

I started getting the same problem with RTG a couple of days ago. By coincidence I just completed a dual boot install with Windows 8.1 (required for work compatibility). I know Windows 10 just took a major new build (1511 I think) but I am unsure if that is the cause. I can tell you I have not had problems using 8.1.
 

ajernig

Dormant account
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Location
NYC
I agree

Never had this problem with 8 but I still think it'd only on this laptop. Casino works fine on others and mobile. Trying to restore before change was made
 

horseplayer

Dormant account
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Location
Charlotte, NC
This issue is not fixed. The only option for me at this point is to play instant and I am not a fan. CWG if you are paying attention get this fixed because my deposits are over until this is resolved.
 

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
I wondered if this has something to do with the latest Flash player update that killed all the MG download casinos? I've got one computer with Windows 7 (and I haven't done the flash update) where I can still play MG, if I have time later I'll check to see if RTG game are all loading or not.
 

cheetahwind

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Location
Iowa
I had this issue, yet I have Windows 10.

What I had to do was go into my settings, recovery, and select the go back to an earlier build option.

Then after waiting about 25 minutes, my PC refreshed with what I can assume was the earlier build of Windows 10. Now my casino shell works just fine. I think it had something to do with an update that Microsoft just released.

Mainly because before I did the restore to an earlier Windows 10 build. I had deleted RTG, removed all of the misc files left behind, got rid of the registery keys, even toned done Internet Explorers security settings, did a fancy computer magic dance, followed by weird incantations.

Then to see someone had posted on the forum that they just did a system restore to an earlier build. Magically allowed RTG to work again. Somehow Microsoft released something in there latest build of Windows 10, that RTG doesn't like. Oh well it's working... for now.
 

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
I just did a quick test with 3 RTG games that won't load on a Windows 10 computer with the updated Flash player. On my Windows 7 machine with the old version of the Flash player they're fine. Chances are that it's not a Windows 10 problem but rather a Flash player problem. If you're running Windows 10, there's no way to roll back the Flash player without restoring the whole system to an earlier point - and the player will just keep updating itself whenever there's an update. But if you're running anything older then you should be able to roll back to an older Flash player. Mind you, who the hell knows which one would be still good, Adobe seemed to be updating that every time I sat down at the computer lately. :rolleyes:

EDIT: Interesting thing I found out while doing this - I was logged into a casino in real play and when I logged in to the same casino from another computer in fun play, it kicked me out of the real play one. Probably just kept the most recent login active...?
 

horseplayer

Dormant account
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Location
Charlotte, NC
As a former programming consultant, RTG should be held in contempt for this snafu. It's not their first. They have folks on their payroll that are supposed to test new rollouts. And if they want to say it's due to a new version of a third party program, ie flash, then their support staff is supposed to catch that too. I am highly pissed that I had to do a restore, 45mins, and all was well until today and I guess I have to waste another 45 mins.

I initially thought this was isolatated to CWG but the same occurs on Inetbet.

Karolina and Emily please contact RTG to fix this fiasco.
 

bowlingbob

Full Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Location
usa
I have the same issue. At one of the casinos I was ready to make a deposit and utilize free spins with it on one of the newer games that causes my casino shell to crash. Tried a few times with the same issue of it crashing the casino before I made the deposit. Then I took the best step to resolve it. Opened up Add/Remove programs and threw the casino in the trash :D
 

vinylweatherman

You type well loads
Joined
Oct 14, 2004
Location
United Kingdom
Quite a few developers have been caught out by this Flash update, it goes beyond our casinos and into the world of CBT, where many CBT delivery systems have also been broken by this Flash update, and there are students and workers being trained by their employer who are unable to continue with their courses until the problem is resolved. There is a HUGE fire burning under Adobe's ass at present. Developers have pointed out that even those who have adhered to Adobe's own documented standards for using the Flash player have had their software rendered useless by this update because Adobe have violated their own standards, and have not updated this developers "bible".

It may also be a wake-up call for developers who have relied so heavily and for so long on something that was never an official internet standard, but merely a third party plug-in that grew so popular that it became an unofficial standard, so much so that developers assumed they could treat it as permanent and not have to reprogram their existing portfolio as new internet standards came along that would do the job, such as HTML5.

It may have been better to have developed an in-house player specifically for their own products so that they would have full control over it. Casinos just use it as a movie player for the most part.
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
Quite a few developers have been caught out by this Flash update, it goes beyond our casinos and into the world of CBT, where many CBT delivery systems have also been broken by this Flash update, and there are students and workers being trained by their employer who are unable to continue with their courses until the problem is resolved. There is a HUGE fire burning under Adobe's ass at present. Developers have pointed out that even those who have adhered to Adobe's own documented standards for using the Flash player have had their software rendered useless by this update because Adobe have violated their own standards, and have not updated this developers "bible".

It may also be a wake-up call for developers who have relied so heavily and for so long on something that was never an official internet standard, but merely a third party plug-in that grew so popular that it became an unofficial standard, so much so that developers assumed they could treat it as permanent and not have to reprogram their existing portfolio as new internet standards came along that would do the job, such as HTML5.

It may have been better to have developed an in-house player specifically for their own products so that they would have full control over it. Casinos just use it as a movie player for the most part.


They're all fine on my ZX Spectrum, Amstrad and Commodore 64....:D:lolup:
 

Deanna

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Location
Ohio
I guess I'm glad I'm not the only one with the problem. It does suck though, I've been mostly playing on mobile. At least I can quit rebooting now hoping something happens LOL!
 

Tillis

Dormant account
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Location
Deep Blue Sea
I was playing day before yesterday on Jackpot Capital with no issues, and get back home today and the shell repeatedly shuts down. I use my computer for work as well as personal and don't think a rollback would be a good choice for me. I hope the RTG developers will create a fix and resolve this soon.
 
Top