1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Can someone help me fix my computer?

Discussion in 'Computers and Internet Geekland' started by dave1888, Nov 4, 2014.

    Nov 4, 2014
  1. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Hi everyone I've been experiencing problems with my computer for some time now. I'm windows 7 operating system and know about anti virus software registry cleaners etc basically I'm not a dumbass when it comes to computers, but this one has me stumped. The problem is not only running programs and updating them but also constantly being told I do not have admin rights when I am the owner and administrator. I have tried running as admin have tried changing the sharing settings just about everything you can imagine I have attempted. It is not only a major inconvenience it's also affecting my internet safety because I can't run programs I have no antivirus software at all!! Does anybody have a solution? Luckily I can run malwarebytes to somewhat sort problems but I think it is deeper script errors mainly from the messages that are coming up on the screen another detail which could be the key is that playtech casinos don't work on download version for me at all it comes up saying I need adobe flashplayer 11 or higher when I do have it. Did I mention I need to download flashplayer every time I have switched off the computer!!! :mad: HELP!!!
     
  2. Nov 4, 2014
  3. The Viking

    The Viking Ueber Meister MM

    Occupation:
    chef
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    I run win 7 but never experince the probs you have, i recommend you reformat your hard drive :)
    it only takes an hour or 2 and you got a new computer :)i know it might only be the 2nd best solution but, ill do it every now and then and about to do it again next few days or so.
    if you dont have a hard drive full with docs and pics then it might be a prob.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Nov 4, 2014
  5. spoton

    spoton Senior Member webmeister

    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Is it a personal computer that you set up from the start? I'm thinking of windows accounts and so on. When you start windows and choose the account to login to, do you get any choices between several users? Windows requires atleast one admin account, so if it is only one account on your machine, and always has been, there is something weird going on indeed.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Nov 4, 2014
  7. Googobucs

    Googobucs Meister Member

    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    When you turn on the computer do you enter a user ID and password?
    If so try this....
    right click on computer from the start menu and select manage.
    On the left select local users and groups to expand it and double click the users folder.
    On the right double click on Administrators
    Go to the Member of tab

    Do you see your user name in the list? If not add it.
    Click the add button
    Type your user name in the open text box and click ok.

    Your user is now an administrator.

    You may not be able to do this if your not an admin, but ti's worth a shot before you reformat the computer.


    Can someone help me fix my computer?: manage.JPG,Nov 4, 2014
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Nov 4, 2014
  9. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Thanks for your help everyone I will try everything you have said @ Spoton yes is a personal computer and I am the only admin guest account disabled etc.
     
  10. Nov 4, 2014
  11. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Googobucs just tried what you said and now I am really concerned I don't even have the local users and groups!? And remote admin? I thought comp had been hijacked earlier this year and it looks as though I am right! Can you understand anything from whats on my screen I've cropped so I can upload it here. Can someone help me fix my computer?: no users on left hand side..jpg,Nov 4, 2014
     
  12. Nov 4, 2014
  13. bigjohn

    bigjohn Meister Member MM PABnoaccred

    Occupation:
    Swimming Pool Serviceman
    Location:
    Northeast Coastal USA
    I just looked at mine and I don't have those sections either. I don't think that shows up unless you have more than 1 user profile on your comp.

    Hijacking sounds like the most likely scenario to me. There is a program and associated website called, "hijackthis" and users have ran their scan program and posted the results on their forum and gotten results, so you may want to try that.

    BTW, do you look at a lot of sports stuff on-line? That is a popular place to pick up all kinds of nasties. People always blame porn sites but the sports sites are the worst.
     
    1 person likes this.
  14. Nov 4, 2014
  15. Googobucs

    Googobucs Meister Member

    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    what bigjohn said.

    I recommend you run your system recover disk and start from scratch at this point. Be sure to back up your files like document and pics first.
    Then get an anti virus when you reinstall everything :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Nov 5, 2014
  17. Googobucs

    Googobucs Meister Member

    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I'm not convinced you've been hijacked. When you turn on your computer do you have to enter a user Id and password or does it just boot up?

    My computer with only 1 user that just boots up looks very similar to the screen you posted.

    If you don't login at all you might try going to the control panel and User accounts. Create a new account and make it an admin. Try logging in with that account and see if the problems go away.
     
  18. Nov 5, 2014
  19. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Yes I enter username and password after the start up and am selected as the admin. I will try that site called hijack this and see what it says it's looking very likely I'm going to need to reformat that's not the painstaking part though it's backing up all my photos/music which will be a pain because I will need to sift through and see what stuff is just crap and what is not. Thanks alot for your help everyone! :thumbsup:
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Nov 5, 2014
  21. chayton

    chayton aka LooHoo CAG PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    Freelance Designer
    Location:
    Edmonton Canada
    Have you tried booting up in safe mode (without networking) to see if you can schedule a boot-time virus scan?
     
    1 person likes this.
  22. Nov 5, 2014
  23. randomiam

    randomiam Meister Member

    Occupation:
    n/a
    Location:
    australia
    replace drive

    Sounds like the registry has prob if it cant remember a program being installed or updated or things wont load
    also could be bad sectors on the drive

    id would do the following myself

    obtain a copy of windows 7 available online thru many means
    buy a 8 gig flash drive and make a bootable usb windows installer flashdrive
    take old hard drive from pc and replace with a ssd drive
    load windows from the flash drive
    install security software
    and remember to scan everything you took off the old pc before adding it back to the new one

    sounds like a stuffed hard drive to me ssd drives also fit laptops :)

    and there super fast
     
    1 person likes this.
  24. Nov 5, 2014
  25. dave1888

    dave1888 Meister Member PABnononaccred2 mm1

    Occupation:
    Customer Advisor/Stockroom Picker
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland!
    Update-I downloaded hijack this and sent the log files to the associated forum so they could possibly determine the issues and what I can safely remove. I think randomiams right though the fact the computer is not remembering what it has downloaded the hard drive needs replaced of course I might try a reformat after backing up my files first but should I have any more issues I'll definitely not think twice about replacing hard drive! Is worth it and I'll get a new graphics card while I'm at it! :D
     

Share This Page