1. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies .This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy.Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Follow Casinomeister on Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Casinomeister.us US Residents Click here! |  Svenska Svenska | 
Dismiss Notice
REGISTER NOW!! Why? Because you can't do diddly squat without having been registered!

At the moment you have limited access to view most discussions: you can't make contact with thousands of fellow players, affiliates, casino reps, and all sorts of other riff-raff.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join Casinomeister here!

Bl00dy Microgaming!!!!!

Discussion in 'Online Casinos' started by vinylweatherman, Mar 1, 2009.

    Mar 1, 2009
  1. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    As promised,

    I am beginning MGS problems part 2.

    They have released SIX new games, yet WILL NOT ADDRESS LEGACY ISSUES:mad::mad:

    Here is one old chestnut.

    You click on an MG casino, and it just sits there in this vegetative state, never proceeding to the full launch, let alone the login screen.
    You cannot even end the task easily, you CANNOT right-click & close from the tab at the bottom of the screen, and it is a fight to the death with the Task manager to purge the task.

    Looking at the task manager for a while, almost no CPU is being used by the task, but it appears to be stuck in an "infinite loop" (been here before with MGS). It slowly loads up from 14,860K RAM to 15200K (approx) and then drops back down to around the 14,900K mark. It does this repeatedly ad-nauseum, never launches, and never closes down.

    Most annoyingly this is a FRESH INSTALL, and should have NO LEGACY ISSUES left over from the various upgrades. I have even allowed it to install directly into the root under c:/microgaming/casinos/ as they prefer.
     
  2. Mar 1, 2009
  3. vegetagirl2008

    vegetagirl2008 Mafia Wars Level 472

    Occupation:
    No Job Here..
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York, United States
    But it is using up your memory. I suggest you go into control.sys click start and then type it in control.sys exactly as it is. Then you need to click on start-up and click on those programs you don't need when you start windows. After that then you can restart your computer and run the software..see if this will work..because you are using most of your memory and it won't run properly.
     
  4. Mar 1, 2009
  5. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    This is odd, because I can RUN SIX MGS casinos simultaneously once launched. I have to admit that I only have 2Gig of RAM, and I really need 4Gig to get the very best out of this PC and XP

    I expect to purchase a few upgrades shortly (got some money coming), and RAM is always considered the number one priority for greatest enhancement at least cost.
    I probably could slim down the active process list. I had to do this with the old PC as it just couldn't cope, however I am NOT getting the "low resource" warning at present, and I have seen this on another less equipped XP PC at my Mum's place when updating MGS casinos.
     
  6. Mar 1, 2009
  7. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    .......

    There's no issue on whether or not it's using memory...it's using memory just as any other process would. Another way to get to where you're going is to type msconfig in the box, which brings up the same thing (just tried, control.sys doesn't work with Vista) :)

    But anyways, dropping items from starting with windows will only change how fast windows boots up. The issue isn't with too much memory being used by the casino, it's simply shoddy programming. VWM is right in that it gets stuck in a loop and never fully loads up, and it's definitely not an issue of not enough memory, as you can see in the SS that windows/other programs are only using < 600mb ram, and between physical ram and the pagefile, almost 4G is still available.....

    Not much you can do in this situation, as vwm has already did a clean re-install of the casino and I'm sure there's been many reboots inbetween.

    The only thing I could think of is to uninstall the casino once again, reboot, and before re-installing, go through your registry and delete every instance of the casino that is behaving badly. As with most programs, the uninstall program only goes through and deletes the program files, and leaves remnants of its existence in your registry which is not only annoying, but it's a good way to slow down your system even more, in the long run.
     
  8. Mar 1, 2009
  9. vegetagirl2008

    vegetagirl2008 Mafia Wars Level 472

    Occupation:
    No Job Here..
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York, United States
    Okay I apologize I was trying to be helpful. What you said makes sense.
     
  10. Mar 1, 2009
  11. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    No reason to apologize for trying to help :) Most people wouldn't even try ;)
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Mar 2, 2009
  13. DiamondGeezer

    DiamondGeezer Dormant account PABnononaccred2 PABnoaccred PABaccred

    Occupation:
    Antiques Dealer
    Location:
    NOT Pennsylvania!!!
    VWM maybe it is giving you a 'magic sign' - don't play me today for I will shaft you :cool:
     
  14. Mar 2, 2009
  15. handkey

    handkey Dormant account webmeister

    Occupation:
    webmaster
    Location:
    NJ
    I have the similar problems.

    The software only proceed to the full launch after sit in the vegetative state for about 30 seconds.

    I have to wait at that time or I will restart my PC
     
  16. Mar 2, 2009
  17. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom

    SPOT ON:mad:

    It DID:mad: (when it finally fired up).
     
  18. Mar 2, 2009
  19. winbig

    winbig Keep winning this amount.

    Occupation:
    Bum
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What fixed it? Was it fixed magically? :rolleyes:
     
  20. Mar 2, 2009
  21. RobWin

    RobWin closed account

    Occupation:
    Who knows?
    Location:
    A Vault!
    With those (81) Processes running, your Registry is probably freaking out, have you cleaned and "Optimized" the registry lately?

    That's what it seems to me to be, that your registry is scrambled and needs to be reorganized and optimized. When I've had that same issue in the past with a couple of the MG casinos, after I optimized my registry the casino always loaded real quick.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2009
  22. Mar 2, 2009
  23. KasinoKing

    KasinoKing WebMeister & Slotaholic.. CAG MM PABnonaccred webmeister

    Occupation:
    House-Husband and Casino Advisor
    Location:
    Bexhill on sea, England
    You shouldn't have to re-start your PC (takes way too long :eek2:) - just kill the program using Task Manager.


    I have the exact same problem as VWM - particularly with Ladbrokes.
    It doesn't happen every time, it seems totally random.
    I find once I've killed it, I just launch it again it usually works OK second time.

    KK
     
  24. Mar 2, 2009
  25. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, it worked fine later on. I did NOTHING to my PC, not even a reboot.

    I have rather neglected this kind of thing on my XP machine, figuring it would have the capacity to cope. I have regularly done this for my Windows 98 machine as it is very stretched in terms of coping with 2009. Next year will be it's TENTH BIRTHDAY:D

    Quite - after posting, I killed it with the task manager. I have this problem a few times, but normally it is just a long delay, but this time it was a full blown HANG - I left it for nearly 15 minutes before killing it.

    Once I got it going later, I played for my "please come back" promo, 200% on 100. I have to play my 100 4x on that heap of sh1t Mega Moolah and claim. Simple? well no. I barely made 150 in wagering before the 100 was gone:mad: Put in another 50 for the next scratchcard (I noticed Mega Moolah was one of the scratchcard games also;)) THAT went only slightly slower, just over 100 of wagering, and another scratchcard tomorrow.
    50 in tomorrow SHOULD beat the 400 for my "come back" offer, but it will simply be a refund.

    Today, I got the first scratchcard, and as you can see - I DID get a jolly good shafting:mad:
     
  26. Mar 2, 2009
  27. Rusty

    Rusty Banned User - repetitive flaming

    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Perhaps it is simply a server issue?
     
  28. Mar 2, 2009
  29. Gogo

    Gogo Dormant account

    Occupation:
    accountant
    Location:
    Croatia
    You can put new entry in registry.
    H_KEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/MICROSOFT/WINDOWS/EXPLORER/
    new DWORD entry:AlwaysUnloadDLL value=1
     
  30. Mar 3, 2009
  31. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting, Windows is full of these odd little tweaks.

    Where did you find this, and what does it do? (Roughly, I guess it forces the unloading from RAM of DLL library routines when an application exits). This was a tweak I tried in Windows 98, but generally for the OS as a whole, not just for Explorer.)

    I presume the default is 0, and Explorer was coded with this option, but it was never implemented as an accessable one.


    Now back to those B*stewards at Ladbrokes. They reneged on the 200% deal, claiming it had an expiry date, although the email sent to ME made no mention of this, and neither did the potted rules on the link through for the claim. I never had a chance right from the start, as it took me 3 days to gather together the extra funds needed to make extra deposits because Mega Moolah wouldn't even MAKE 4x deposit because it was such a "deposit hoover".

    All Ladbrokes have done is remind me in searingly painful detail just why I had originally UNINSTALLED their casino in the first place. Now, it is being uninstalled yet again, for the THIRD TIME in 6 months. Each install was because of their continual incompetence, and each reinstall was because they said "sorry - won't happen again". But always it does.

    A 4th chance? Well, how often do I allow myself to be suckered in by their "crocodile tears" apologies?

    They need one MAJOR overhaul of procedures and staff, so that promotions work, and more importantly, the rules given to PLAYERS match the rules created and stored on their back end application.

    Having installed the casino I WAS going to play for scratchcards all month, and would have made a further 28 deposits totalling 1400. They have thrown this away, and another casino (or three) will end up benefiting from this much more liquidity that would otherwise have gone through Ladbrokes. The way Mega Moolah was playing, Ladbrokes could well have won all of this off me by the end of March.

    I have around 150 left, until I get paid by Prime and Canbet, but instead of Ladbrokes, it is now going to 32Red for an early blast at the Slotmeister to unsettle sjn:D
     
  32. Mar 3, 2009
  33. Gogo

    Gogo Dormant account

    Occupation:
    accountant
    Location:
    Croatia
    You guess right.
    You must manually type this line and set value to 1.
    AlwaysUnloadDLL

    I found that in computer magazine from Croatia.
     
    1 person likes this.
  34. Mar 3, 2009
  35. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I found quite a few in a book, and some more online. There are a few software applications that can tweak various windows settings, and one I have tried has a community where new tweaks can be shared, and imported into the application. It looked a bit dead though, little description of what the tweaks did, and how, and little updated content. It did cover XP though, as well as 98 which I was using it for.

    Microsoft also have "Powertoys", and there are a few basic tweaks there. They also have all the knowledge base articles, but it would take FOREVER to read through these to find all the possible beneficial tweaks.
     
  36. Mar 9, 2009
  37. vinylweatherman

    vinylweatherman You type well loads CAG MM

    Occupation:
    STILL At Leisure
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    No Access - Bugger off

    Here is yet another annoying legacy issue. In involves the Viper lobby browser plug-in.

    It is absolutely riddled with these kinds of problems.

    If I use my browser itself, all is OK (I'm posting here) - but often it falls over when used from within the lobby itself.

    This means NO BLOODY ACCESS to Cashcheck, Playcheck, Loyalty points, News, Promotions. No amount of refreshing, logging off & on, etc makes a blind bit of difference. MGS seem to have failed somewhere, and while my browser can "see" the net from my desktop, MGS has "blinded" it when it is within the lobby.
     
  38. Mar 9, 2009
  39. GGW Laurie

    GGW Laurie Dormant account

    Occupation:
    Self Employed
    Location:
    In the Beautiful South !!
    I played yesterday at a m/g casino for the first time in a long while, new games sucked, trying to download them was a pain in the ass, it just wasnt the same as it used to be...........NO FUN!!!! imo.....laurie
     

Share This Page