Accidentally clicking Max Bet :eek::eek:

SubzeroWins

Webmeister
webmeister
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Location
-
1 wrong click cost me 200x bet on startburst :mad: A simple popup to confirm would have been nice!
 

bigjohn

Dormant account
Joined
Dec 21, 2012
Location
Northeast Coastal USA
Bad luck but a simple pop-up, aint gonna happen. You gotta really watch what you are clicking.

The casino provides the software, it's up to you to use it.
 

rockycatt

meistercatt
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Location
Boston
I feel 4 u we have all done it how ever my last was a 10.00 bet at winaday but I :D won 85.00$$ I was lucky
 

Nifty29

Dormant account
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Location
Turn right, then right. then right again
I understand your frustration (anyone seen that Beavis and Butthead call centre episode?? LOL).

However, I think you will find that a pop up every time you want to click max bet would cause more people more frustration than the occasional player like yourself who hits max bet accidentally once.

I know that many players here vary their bets from spin to spin, and having to confirm every time you want to spin max for that coin size would be a PITA.

Just put it down to a mistake - we all make them. Remember, you could have won a boatload...and I have no doubt you would be posting about how lucky you were and how happy you were that you hit max bet.
 

slotplayer

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
webmeister
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Location
USA
I understand your frustration (anyone seen that Beavis and Butthead call centre episode?? LOL).

However, I think you will find that a pop up every time you want to click max bet would cause more people more frustration than the occasional player like yourself who hits max bet accidentally once.

I know that many players here vary their bets from spin to spin, and having to confirm every time you want to spin max for that coin size would be a PITA.

Just put it down to a mistake - we all make them. Remember, you could have won a boatload...and I have no doubt you would be posting about how lucky you were and how happy you were that you hit max bet.

thats not how it would implemented from a programing standpoint. It would only have to be a popup warning dialog box the first time the max button is depressed, then there could be a little checkbox on the dialog box to disable further messages for this session only for those that intentionally want to bet max. I see a similar setup when testing code with firefox.

However, everytime this mistake happens I can't help but think about the bonus max bet rule.
 

Nifty29

Dormant account
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Location
Turn right, then right. then right again
thats not how it would implemented from a programing standpoint. It would only have to be a popup warning dialog box the first time the max button is depressed, then there could be a little checkbox on the dialog box to disable further messages for this session only for those that intentionally want to bet max. I see a similar setup when testing code with firefox.

However, everytime this mistake happens I can't help but think about the bonus max bet rule.

How do you know how it will be implemented?

You're missing a vital point....sometimes people DO want to max bet, but occasionally they press it accidentally.

So, how it turning the popup off permanently going to stop that accidental bet? It isn't. So, either you leave the popup on to protect you against accidental max bets, or you turn it off and return to the status quo and take your chances.

Just because someone accidentally max bets once, doesn't mean they never want to use it.

I don't think you thought this through very well.
 

skiny

Banned User - violation of <a href="http://www.cas
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Location
Canada
How about not placing the max bet button beside the spin button where it can easily be accidently clicked and not having the space bar trigger a max bet like some casinos so people hitting the keyboard accidently don't lose half their balance in one spin?

Personally, I've never understood the need for a max bet button. You can set the amount you want to bet in a matter of seconds and then spin max bet all day long. RTG casinos have got by just fine without a max bet button and I don't remember hearing anyone complain about it.

There's a reason 3Dice changed their software so people can set the value of the max bet button permanently. People got tired of hitting it by accident.
 

slotplayer

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
webmeister
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Location
USA
How do you know how it will be implemented?

You're missing a vital point....sometimes people DO want to max bet, but occasionally they press it accidentally.

So, how it turning the popup off permanently going to stop that accidental bet? It isn't. So, either you leave the popup on to protect you against accidental max bets, or you turn it off and return to the status quo and take your chances.

Just because someone accidentally max bets once, doesn't mean they never want to use it.

I don't think you thought this through very well.

I don't know precisely how it would be implemented and this is only one possible solution but as I said I've seen warning dialog boxes done that way.

However, you're not thinking it through. You need to go back and reread what you posted as it certaintly would not be implemented like you said here with it appearing every time the max button was pressed of course that would frustrate some players, hence the checkbox to disable it.

However, I think you will find that a pop up every time you want to click max bet would cause more people more frustration than the occasional player like yourself who hits max bet accidentally once.

Player accidently hits max button, a warning dialog box appears confirming the max bet. If the player wants to bet max they hit continue, before they hit continue they optionally check a box to supress further messages for seamless play.

One it prevents the player from dropping a large amount of their bankroll and two it prevents the casino from invoking the max bet rule on a bonus shoud the they win/withdraw.

All that has to be done to quickly reset(re-enable) the warning message so it appears again is to click the bet up/down button(s).

It only needs to be prevented from happening the first time for the player to be aware of it and then offer them a choice.

It can never be both ways in programming, you either allow the state or disallow the state. That is to say you either disable the max bet or enable it but that does not prevent it from having any controls.

However, it does not even have to be implemented at the game level but could be incorporated with some tailored user settings at the casino level.
 

SubzeroWins

Webmeister
webmeister
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Location
-
How about not placing the max bet button beside the spin button where it can easily be accidently clicked and not having the space bar trigger a max bet like some casinos so people hitting the keyboard accidently don't lose half their balance in one spin?

Personally, I've never understood the need for a max bet button. You can set the amount you want to bet in a matter of seconds and then spin max bet all day long. RTG casinos have got by just fine without a max bet button and I don't remember hearing anyone complain about it.

There's a reason 3Dice changed their software so people can set the value of the max bet button permanently. People got tired of hitting it by accident.

Exactly what i was thinking when I posted this. The max bet on starburst is right next to the spin button! it's almost as if they are hoping for you to press it by accident
 

chayton

aka LooHoo
webmeister
PABnonaccred
CAG
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Location
Edmonton Canada
Before 3Dice changed their software I hit max bet accidentally on Fortune Falls - I had a little tourney win or some comps or something that I had slowly and painfully built up to about $18, and hit max and boom - $15 gone! lol...would have been sweet if I'd won though.

Actually I had an idea for NetEnt casinos - I don't know how feasible it would be though. You know how players can set a deposit limit for themselves? What if there was a way for each player to set their own maximum max bet? It could be either total bet or max amount per line. If you do max per line then you could set it to a specific amount per line, or alternatively set it to a total bet per spin. So if you accidentally click max bet and and that's higher than your set max bet, then there would be a warning message. And if it was something the player could change for themselves, if you build up your bankroll and decide to bet higher, you just pop into your profile and change it.

Like I said, I don't know how feasible it would be or if it's technically even possible. Most of the time I don't have a large enough balance at NetEnt casinos for it to be an issue - if I hit max bet by mistake I'd just get a message that I don't have enough money. :rolleyes:
 

Nifty29

Dormant account
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Location
Turn right, then right. then right again
How about not placing the max bet button beside the spin button where it can easily be accidently clicked and not having the space bar trigger a max bet like some casinos so people hitting the keyboard accidently don't lose half their balance in one spin?

Personally, I've never understood the need for a max bet button. You can set the amount you want to bet in a matter of seconds and then spin max bet all day long. RTG casinos have got by just fine without a max bet button and I don't remember hearing anyone complain about it.

There's a reason 3Dice changed their software so people can set the value of the max bet button permanently. People got tired of hitting it by accident.

I think that is a fair POV, and a fair solution.

I've done it a handful of times over the years, but I certainly did not blame the casino or their software for it....ultimately it was my fault, and I took responsibility. I did actually win something nice a few times, so overall I'm probably no worse off.

The idea of clicking and unclicking checkboxes every time you want to use max bet or turn it off just seems cumbersome to me. It would just annoy me....and if I made a mistake and did not turn it off, I could still accidentally hit max bet, so I'm no better off....it's just leaving another window open to make another mistake IMO.
 

Tirilej

Still a Lady
CAG
MM
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Location
Sweden
The Max bet button should just not exist anywhere. I hate its very existent!

MG and NetEnt, please remove it!!!
 

Finn

Dormant account
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Location
Finland
If you hit the max bet accidentally after setting the wanted coin value, in most games at worst you are going to bet 10 times more than you intended, or even less if you like to fluctuate between bet level 5 and bet level 10 or something like that, or if you have the bet level at 10, then pushing the max bet does same as just pushing roll button. But if you hit it at the beginning, with Starburst having default coin value of 20 cent, you can accidentally bet 200 times more (20 euro default max bet vs 10 cent lowest 10 lines bet) than you intended to.

The easiest fix would be to have reasonable default coin value, like some of the newer Netent games have, South Park has 2 cent default coin value so accidental max bet results to you betting only 5 euros. Seriously, what percentage of casino players start their betting with 20 euro bets? Pretty small I guess, there is no reason why default max bet should be 20 euros. Some casinos even have rules than disallow high rolling with bonus money, so that you are not allowed according to the bonus money rules bet higher than 5 euro, 7.5 euro or 10 euro, but still you can accidentally do that on those casinos with the default max bet. Because of this, I would say that it is pretty irresponsible of the software providers to have so high default max bets.

Never hit the max bet accidentally myself when playing with real money, but still reasonable default coin value would be nice if that ever happened.
 

skiny

Banned User - violation of <a href="http://www.cas
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Location
Canada
It's really just the placement of it that bothers me. There's a reason we put things we don't want to hit accidently out of the way. Turn the pot handles in on the stove, don't leave crap on the stairs, point all the knives down in the dishpan and put the max bet button less than a millimeter away from a button you're probably going to click a thousand times a night. Makes sense to me.
 

rena35

Meister Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Location
cyber space
I know things do happen but i would :baby: cry if that happened to me. Guess i haven't been gaming long enough to have that happen but im glad i saw this post. Thanks for the heads up.
 

SubzeroWins

Webmeister
webmeister
Joined
Jul 25, 2013
Location
-
If you hit the max bet accidentally after setting the wanted coin value, in most games at worst you are going to bet 10 times more than you intended, or even less if you like to fluctuate between bet level 5 and bet level 10 or something like that, or if you have the bet level at 10, then pushing the max bet does same as just pushing roll button. But if you hit it at the beginning, with Starburst having default coin value of 20 cent, you can accidentally bet 200 times more (20 euro default max bet vs 10 cent lowest 10 lines bet) than you intended to.

This is exactly what happened to me on starburst. It starts on high coin value and in order to change that you have to click a button right next to the max bet. Sure it's my own fault for clicking the wrong button.. but it shouldnt be on that spot in the first place!! I agree a popup might be annoying, but the least they could do is put it out of harms way
 

dunover

Unofficial T&C's Editor
Staff member
webmeister
PABnonaccred
PABnononaccred
CAG
mm3
Joined
May 22, 2012
Location
the bus shelter, opposite GCHQ Benhall
About the placement of the 'max bet' button. The games online are designed to replicate physical slots with a line of buttons along under the screen. If some players have 'wandering cursor syndrome' then a solution may be to have the max bet button coloured differently. Easier to implement.
 

Simmo!

Paleo Meister (means really, really old)
Joined
May 29, 2004
Location
England
How about not placing the max bet button beside the spin button where it can easily be accidently clicked and not having the space bar trigger a max bet like some casinos so people hitting the keyboard accidently don't lose half their balance in one spin?

Personally, I've never understood the need for a max bet button. You can set the amount you want to bet in a matter of seconds and then spin max bet all day long. RTG casinos have got by just fine without a max bet button and I don't remember hearing anyone complain about it.

There's a reason 3Dice changed their software so people can set the value of the max bet button permanently. People got tired of hitting it by accident.

I'm with Skiny....it's a totally pointless button on a slot machine that must piss off more customers than it makes happy. The only place where it (arguably) has a use is on video poker where a max coins bet favours the player.
 

skiny

Banned User - violation of <a href="http://www.cas
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Location
Canada
I'm with Skiny....it's a totally pointless button on a slot machine that must piss off more customers than it makes happy. The only place where it (arguably) has a use is on video poker where a max coins bet favours the player.

It's about as useful as a mix bet button that just randomly bets any amount.
 

rena35

Meister Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Location
cyber space
Cant a player just raise or lower his/her bet themselves ? In trying to make things easier sometimes it can really screw things up.
 

zreb

Experienced Member
PABaccred
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Location
currently in US
I always forget which softwares use "max bet" to max your bet for a given coin size vs which ones take "max bet" to mean "absolutely maximum bet possible".

I generally avoid the button altogether just to be on the safe side (with the exception of video poker or games with only one coin size), since in some games a max bet can be hundreds, even thousands of dollars.

The removable confirmation pop up idea seems like a decent compromise to me, though I wouldn't really mind it being removed altogether either. Another alternative would be that "max bet" simply sets the bet to max coins and lines, but the player must actually hit the spin button to place the wager.
 

skiny

Banned User - violation of <a href="http://www.cas
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Location
Canada
Another alternative would be that "max bet" simply sets the bet to max coins and lines, but the player must actually hit the spin button to place the wager.

Another sensible Idea.
 
Top