Hosting

Webzcas

Winter is Coming!
Staff member
In the light of what has happened recently, I thought it would be interesting to find out the hosting requirements of webmasters. Do you use shared hosting services or hire a dedicated server?

Do you opt for the cheapest option available or do you have to have the best dedicated hosting package money can buy?

What are the features such as managed hosting do you look for and require before making your decision?

As for myself I have been using a dedicated server/s for the last five years, from just a few months before I became an affiliate full time.

My main requirements are response time of server, response time of technical support, ability to upgrade services within a short time frame and future scaleability.

I also hire my server with who I do, due to their network capacity and their physical location - important for google.

The overall cost is certainly a lot dearer than other dedicated hosting options, but the price is worth every penny imo.

Am having trouble getting on your forum today - hope everything is ok?

We are having a firewall installed. Currently it is doing it's job and blocking everyone and everything :D

Hopefully will be back up shortly, once the firewall has been configured. I did have a software firewall lfd - which is free and very effective. Although it became self aware and started blocking me - It was like Skynet in Terminator 2 LOL

Hence I have opted for a more practical but more expensive option of having a dedicated hardware firewall installed.

A firewall that sits in front of your dedicated server, whereby all traffic to your sites hosted on your server has to pass through the firewall before reaching your server.