Head in the Sand Award 2016: Betsoft

“Just please go away…”

award_beerHead in the sand award goes to Betsoft. It was discovered in June this year that their progressives were skewered. Here is the original thread that refers to a lengthy report at Casinolistings.com, and a subsequent posting at Vegasclick.com where MichaelBlueJay detailed the time-line of what transpired at the casinos in question. MichaelBlueJay posted his and Casinolistings findings here: Please consider Roguing Betsoft software and Warning about Betcoin.ag. And Max posted his warning here: Betsoft/Betcoin.ag: jackpot results “statistically improbable”/payments withheld.

Well, what happened? Nothing – absolutely nothing. Betsoft never admitted anything publicly. No press release, no confession to guilt, no owning up to a mistake, or a glitch. Nada.

And what a shame. I remember years ago when things like this would happen, software providers would get actively involved – putting out fires in the fora, publishing explanations via press releases, meeting with forum owners like myself (RE Mathematical Proof that English Harbour is cheating).

Back in the day, company owners would go to great lengths to ensure that players had trust in their product. This included eating crow every so often. But now we are in an era where if you ignore something long enough, hopefully it’ll go away. It’s the era of “I don’t give a shit what you think – let’s make a lot of money.”

So take a deep breath Betsoft, and stick your head in the sand.

And going further with this – does anybody care? There are more than enough casino operators who are hosting these games right now, and no one has made a peep (besides me, the above mentioned, and a few player forums). It’s as if more than just the software provider owners have their heads in the sand, perhaps a few other names should be on this list as well.

Head in the Sand Historical Awards

Head in the Sand Award 2015 – the “Bonus Beaters”, the “Bonus Whores”
Head in the Sand Award 2014 – Oblivious Players
Head in the Sand Award 2013 – Naive Affiliates
Head in the Sand Award 2012 – Lazy Affiliates
Head in the Sand Award 2011 – Casino Operator Bonus Pimps
Head in the Sand Award 2010 – Lotteries and Gaming Authority
Head in the Sand Award 2009 – Affiliates and Affiliate Managers
Head in the Sand Award 2008 – Hypocritical US Politicians
Head in the Sand Award 2007 – Players who Patronize the Rogues
Head in the Sand Award 2006 – The Entire Online Casino Industry
Head in the Sand Award 2005 – iGlobalMedia
Head in the Sand Award 2005 Runner Up – Chartwell Technologies