|
|||
|
|||||||
| Register | All Albums | Member Blogs | FAQ | Members List | Mark Forums Read | |||
| Main Site | CM Casinos | CM Poker | I-Gaming Forum Reps | Rogue Pit | Webcast | Bitchin' Newsletter | News |
| Notices |
| Other Complaints Complaints concerning other related stuff: Neteller, your government, your shoes, should be posted here: |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Need some help with this
I received a spam email from this address: zspm23@imail.etsu.edu. It was casino advertising but for some reason it wouldn't open so I don't know what casino it was for. However, my question is this, how do I go about finding out where/who it came from. Not that I care which casino, but in the US an email that came with .edu at the end usually comes from a college. ETSU is a university here in Texas and I am really curious if this actually came from a college computer.
I know that most of you at CM are far more knowledgeable about this sort of thing than I am or will ever be, so I was just wondering if someone could help with this. |
|
||||
|
It's most likely a forged email address......happens all the time.
If you want to know more look at the headers on the email. If you need help with that, post what email client you are using. Hope that helps. |
|
||||
|
I see you are using yahoo email. I can help show you how to view the header info in the email but someone else will need to take a look at it to let you know what the info means. I''m not sure who it was but others on here have posted that have knowledge about email headers.
You can view the header by going into the options menu on your yahoo email page, top of page on the right side, above listing of your emails. After you are in the options menu go to Management/General Preferences and select the option that is under the messages part that says "show all headers". Then you can go back to the email in question and copy and paste the header here and ask for help with it. BB |
| The Following User Says Thank You to bb28 For This Useful Post: | ||
lojo (6th January 2008) | ||
|
|||
|
Or you can go to the bottom of the message (looks like you're using the older yahoo, I do too) on the bottom right there will be "Full Headers" click on that and take a screenshot or copy paste here. Be sure to go through and remove your info. It will look something like this:
Quote:
|
| The Following User Says Thank You to lojo For This Useful Post: | ||
bb28 (6th January 2008) | ||
| The Following User Says Thank You to anniemac For This Useful Post: | ||
lojo (6th January 2008) | ||
|
|||
|
Can you copy and paste it so its easier to read? It can be sleuthed from there
me eyes ain't what they used to was. |
|
||||
|
Let's see if this is better. I told all I am computer illiterate.
![]() From zspm23@imail.etsu.edu Sat Jan 5 14:37:20 2008 X-Apparently-To: via 68.142.207.95; Sat, 05 Jan 2008 14:37:21 -0800 X-YahooFilteredBulk: 67.19.218.194 X-Originating-IP: [67.19.218.194] Return-Path: <zspm23@imail.etsu.edu> Authentication-Results: mta376.mail.re4.yahoo.com from=imail.etsu.edu; domainkeys=neutral (no sig) Received: from 67.19.218.194 (HELO nebula.websiteactive.com) (67.19.218.194) by mta376.mail.re4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 05 Jan 2008 14:37:20 -0800 Received: from srvgzjr (252.36.205.173) by nebula.websiteactive.com; Sun, 6 Jan 2008 09:37:20 +1100 Date: Sun, 6 Jan 2008 09:37:20 +1100 From: zspm23@imail.etsu.edu Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.01) Reply-to: <se@msn.com> X-Priority: 3 (Normal) Message-ID: <33607599.20071119072933@imail.etsu.edu> To: Subject: big money MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----------F3452192283AC" Content-Length: 206613 |
| The Following User Says Thank You to anniemac For This Useful Post: | ||
lojo (6th January 2008) | ||
|
||||
|
Here is the Who is info on the orginating IP
Result for 67.19.218.194
--> /usr/local/bin/fwhois 67.19.218.194@whois.arin.net [whois.arin.net] OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc. OrgID: TPCM Address: 1333 North Stemmons Freeway Address: Suite 110 City: Dallas StateProv: TX PostalCode: 75207 Country: US ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.theplanet.com:4321 NetRange: 67.18.0.0 - 67.19.255.255 CIDR: 67.18.0.0/15 NetName: NETBLK-THEPLANET-BLK-11 NetHandle: NET-67-18-0-0-1 Parent: NET-67-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Allocation NameServer: NS1.THEPLANET.COM NameServer: NS2.THEPLANET.COM Comment: RegDate: 2004-03-15 Updated: 2004-07-29 RTechHandle: PP46-ARIN RTechName: Pathos, Peter RTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800 RTechEmail: admins@theplanet.com OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE271-ARIN OrgAbuseName: Abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-214-782-7802 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@theplanet.com OrgNOCHandle: TECHN33-ARIN OrgNOCName: Technical Support OrgNOCPhone: +1-214-782-7800 OrgNOCEmail: admins@theplanet.com OrgTechHandle: TECHN33-ARIN OrgTechName: Technical Support OrgTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800 OrgTechEmail: admins@theplanet.com # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2008-01-05 19:10 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database. |
|
|||
|
I've never quite known the best way to deal with stuff like this. Is forwarding the message to abuse@theplanet.com the best thing? I don't have time right now to crack it down further... hope I was a help in getting the info here to be looked at.
You were awesome bb28 ![]() |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Casinomeister is proud to present the following quality portals
Online Casinos | GoneGambling | Online Casino Reviews
| Wizard of Odds | Games and Casino | Online Poker Rooms | BetOnCharity | Winneronline | Online Casinos| Online Slots |
Online Casino Reviews
Legal Statements and Privacy Policy
Casinomeister.com does not intend for any of the information contained on this website to be used for illegal purposes. You must ensure you meet all age and other regulatory requirements before entering a casino or placing a wager. Online gambling is illegal in many jurisdictions and users should consult legal counsel regarding the legal status of online gambling and gaming in their jurisdictions. The information in this site is for news and entertainment purposes only. Casinomeister.com is an independent directory and information service not affiliated with any casino. Links to third party websites on Casinomeister.com are provided solely for informative/educational purposes. If you use these links, you leave this Website.